Eight Goals for 2015

About the MDGs

 Maldives has achieved 5 out of the 8 Millennium Development Goals. Photo: Umair Badeeu/UNDP Maldives 2007.

The UN Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) are eight goals, to be achieved by 2015, that respond to the world's main development challenges. The MDGs represent the world's time-bound and quantified targets for addressing extreme poverty in its many dimensions - income poverty, hunger, disease, lack of adequate shelter, and exclusion-while promoting gender equality, education, and environmental sustainability. The MDGs also emphasize shared accountability and reciprocal obligations among developed and developing countries.


Helping the Maldives Achieve the MDGs

UNDP Around the world

You are at UNDP Maldives 
Go to UNDP Global